Hexham abbey was founded in 674, when Queen Etheldreda granted lands to Wilfrid, at that time Bishop of York. It followed the Benedictine rule and for a time was the seat of a bishop. In 875 Hexham was raided by the Danes and the abbey was destroyed. It was rebuilt c 1050, then again from 1170-1250 when it became an Augustine priory.
  Two treasures remain from the time of Wifrid: the Frith stool, a bishop's throne, and the crypt, a rival to the one at Ripon and a home for saints relics. Much of the early abbey was built of Roman stones rescued from nearby Roman buildings, and many of these can be seen in the crypt.

Above: 15th century reredos at Hexham showing canonised bishops: Wilfrid is third from the left.

Above: the Frith Stool

Below: the crypt, showing the Roman stone.

St Wilfrid page1                                                                    Home page - explore the site